Volvo's next-gen infotainment will pack Google Maps, Assistant and Play Store

Share

While Android Things 1.0 still supports devices based on the NXP i.MX7D and Raspberry Pi 3 Model B SoMs, its stable launch marks the end of support for NXP i.MX6UL-based products. It also supports Google technologies like Google Assistant and Google Cast. In practice, Google says this means it "will offer free stability fixes and security patches for three years, with additional options for extended support".

It's important to note that consumers will never interact with Weave or Android Things directly as they are simply powering a product, like a smart light bulb. The gesture controls will allow the back and app-switcher on-screen buttons to be hidden away, thereby allowing a more effective use of the full-screen display.

Wear OS, the rebranded version of Android Wear, will likely make its return to Google I/O after being an afterthought in last year's event. This support was expected, especially with the smart displays from JBL, Sony and Lenovo expected to be released in the coming days and weeks. The company says it "incorporated the feedback from Project Brillo to include familiar tools such as Android Studio, the Android Software Development Kit (SDK), Google Play Services, and Google Cloud Platform".

Chromecast isn't a new name in the world of streaming online content from our Android or Computer to a TV.

Machine learning is today's watchword, and Google states, "Our systems will evaluate all available signals and use machine learning to predict the likelihood of a search query to convert so you can make the most of your budget across networks, products, and audiences".

More news: Bale save Real Madrid against unbeaten Barcelona
More news: Surgeons dismiss Trump's London knife crime claims as 'ridiculous'
More news: Dramatic Jump in Vector-Borne Disease from 2004 — CDC

Android Automotive is not yet deeply embedded in any cars. Shipments of smartwatches with Google's Wear OS were outnumbered five-to-one by rival Apple devices previous year, according to research firm IDC.

The features will be available for Volvo's next-generation cars over the next few years.

The JBL Link Bar will have a demo session at Google I/O 2018 in the Android Sandbox.

Android variants thrive in China, where Google does not operate.

Google also has been slowed by resistance from carmakers to hand over a key interface, smartwatches from consumer electronics brands that failed to attract mass appeal and TV software that manufacturers found too rigid, analysts said. The festivities officially kick off with an opening keynote from Google CEO, Sundar Pichai at at 10AM PT / 1PM ET / 7PM CET / 10:30PM IST.

Share