Gmail's self-destructing emails are now coming to phone apps

Share

"You can send messages and attachments with Gmail's confidential mode to help protect sensitive information from unauthorized access", Google explains on its support page for the new feature.

The Android Gmail app just picked up yet another feature from its site-based big brother.

The new feature is available now, no need to update the Gmail app, as GSMArena notes.

Google claims that while confidential mode feature will help prevent the recipients from accidentally sharing the email, it can not cease them from taking screenshots or photos of the messages or attachments.

The feature is enabled when you click the button for a new email.

More news: Mark Warner wants to block Trump from 'arbitrarily revoking security clearances'
More news: Erdogan, Macron vow to boost economic ties - Turkish presidential source
More news: Mike Pence outlines plan for new US Space Force by 2020

Confidential Mode, Smart Compose, Email Snoozing were among a few additions to the world's most popular free email service last May.

If you're familiar with how Inbox handles undoing sent emails, the implementation in Gmail is basically identical.

The feature would help "when we send proposals in a sales organization that we don't want to be outside of their network or their world", said Brady Edwards, director of customer solutions at email deliverability company 250ok. Tap the three dots on the right top corner to choose "Confidential Mode". Recipients of these confidential emails won't be able to copy, paste, download, print or forward the message, and attachments will be disabled.

You will have two further settings for setting up the Confidential Mode.

Thoughts about Gmail's Confidential Mode? Just check the menu if you want to know whether you have received the update or not. Similar to the web version, a user can select a self-destruct timer for the email. The users will not face any issue opening those messages. With apps like BHIM, when you enter the payments mode and take a screenshot, it either gives an error that you can't take screenshots, or on some phones it captures complete black photos.

Share