CBI vs CBI: Supreme Court to hear Alok Verma’s plea on Friday


Verma states that there are occasions when certain investigations into high functionaries do not take the direction that may be desirable to the government.

The FIR quotes Raut as saying that earlier this month, an internal half-yearly audit revealed that Maitra, senior manager (finance) of the Engine Division at Koraput, approved multiple payment vouchers for contractors without seeking the "requisite bills and work orders". The Congress also dubbed the action as "last nail" in the independence of the CBI.

But Jaitley dismissed as "rubbish" the allegation of a Rafale link.

The petition points out that Verma had caused the registration of FIR against Rakesh Asthana on the basis of complaint of one Satish Sana alleging payment of bribes to Asthana.

Asthana challenged the same before Delhi High Court on October 23. The CBI was directed to maintain status quo and was also ordered to not arrest Asthana until the next date of hearing.

It has also cited allegations of corruption against Nageshwar Rao, who has been appointed as the acting director.

More news: Mysterious paralyzing illness reported in 22 states — CDC
More news: Jurgen Klopp warns Reds 'second is nothing' in Premier League title fight
More news: Kavanaugh Takes Active Role During Arguments on First Day on Supreme Court

Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge has written a letter to the Prime Minister stating that the CBI director can not be touched until the selection committee is taken in confidence.

According to an ANI report, seven of the 13 transferred officials were on the same team that was investigating Asthana's case.

Nageshwar Rao, a 1986 batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of the Odisha cadre, has been serving as Joint Director in the investigating agency since he joined the CBI in 2016.

His reporting officer Additional SP SS Gurm was transferred to Jabalpur while supervisor DIG MK Sinha was moved to Nagpur, the order said. Those named in the case are Bhaben Maitra, Abinash Kumar Sarkar, Subhashree Das, Jayaram Garada, Bipra Charana Maharana, Jisudan Khosla, Urdhab Khola and Sadananda Nayak and some "unknown officials".

He said that neither Verma's removal nor Rao's appointment was referred to the Selection Committee, as is required under the law and the Supreme Court directives.