Ty Law voted into Pro Football Hall of Fame


Law was a five-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro who won three Super Bowls with the Patriots. "Still, when you hear the knock, your heart drops".

Law, a five-time Pro Bowl selection, intercepted 53 passes and returned seven for touchdowns during 15 seasons with the Patriots (1995-2004), New York Jets (2005, 2008), Chiefs (2006-07) and Broncos (2009). Gonzalez was voted to 14 Pro Bowls in his career and was an All-Pro seven times.

"It's surreal to get this honor while my former team is playing", said Law, who will be on hand when the Patriots again play the Rams for the title Sunday. He made three All-Pro teams and joins Mike Webster, Dwight Stevenson and Jim Otto among the few true centres in Canton.

Kevin Mawae, an eight-time Pro Bowl center who spent half his 16-year career with the Jets, is headed to Canton, Ohio.

He earned a spot some thought might go instead to Jaguars left tackle Tony Boselli.

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80% during the annual selection meeting, which was held Saturday in Atlanta. Bowlen suffers from Alzheimer's disease and stepped away from the franchise's day-to-day operations in 2014.

More news: Who backs whom in Venezuela crisis
More news: 'Mario Kart Tour' for iPhone and Android delayed to summer
More news: "1-2" of snow across central IN overnight

His daughter, Annabel, was at NFL Honors to represent him.

"A lot of tears in the room", she said. Serving on a number of National Football League committees over his career, Bowlen helped secure the NFL's labor and TV contracts.

Brandt was the Cowboys' vice president of player personnel from 1960-88, which included two world championship seasons. He chose eight future Hall of Famers, including Troy Aikman, Roger Staubach, Bob Lilly and Bob Hayes. He helped create the NFL Scouting Combine as a centralization of the draft's evaluation process.

Drafted in the first round by the Redskins out of Georgia, Bailey would ultimately become most famous for being a part of the rare National Football League blockbuster trade (pre-salary cap explosion anyway), with the Redskins shipping him to Denver in exchange for Clinton Portis.

Robinson will be enshrined as a senior member.

Robinson, a leader on the Chiefs team that won Super Bowl IV in 1970, played 12 seasons with the Dallas Texans and Kansas City.