Modi urges first time voters to vote in record numbers


Giving the seat break-up of the remaining six phases, CEC revealed that 97 Lok Sabha seats in 13 states will go to polls during the second phase; 115 seats over 14 states in the third phase; 71 seats in nine states in the fourth phase; 51 seats in seven states in the fifth phase; 59 seats in seven states in the sixth phase; and 59 seats in eight states will go to polls during the seventh and final phase.

It had been speculated that simultaneous polls would also be held in Jammu and Kashmir. The dates are April 11, April 18, April 23 and April 29.

With the model code of conduct for elections coming into immediate effect, the government can not announce any policy move that may impact voters' decision.

Parliamentary and assembly polls will be held in Odisha across the first four phases on April 11, April 18, April 23 and April 29, respectively. The EC directed Gujarat's Chief Election Officer BB Swain to file an FIR against channels in the state that telecast Gandhi's interview.

The EC announced that assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh will also be held along with the Lok Sabha polls.

In its briefing, the Election Commission said it had taken into account harvest and exams as well as festivals while deciding on the poll schedule.

More news: US trade deficit reached a record high past year
More news: News Channels Run Old Video as Actual Footage of IAF Air Strikes
More news: Are Samsung, Huawei's foldable smartphones worth the hefty price tag?

The Election Commission (EC) announced the schedule for the high-voltage Lok Sabha elections on Sunday, March 10.

The Jammu and Kashmir assembly was dissolved in November previous year, months after the Mehbooba Mufti-headed government in the state fell following the BJP withdrawing support to it in June.

The Commission has directed that the use of public address system or loudspeakers during the entire election period starting from the date of announcement of the election and ending with the date of declaration of results, shall not be permitted at night between 10.00 p.m. and 6.00 a.m. I hope this election witnesses a historic turnout. Even the J-K Governor recently said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi complimented him for "successful" conduct of the civic elections in Jammu and Kashmir.

Polls will be held on May 12 in a total of 59 constituencies spread across 7 states.

The five-year term of the 16th Lok Sabha is due to expire on June 3, 2019. March 28 is the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

On Saturday, the national poll body had issued an advisory to all political parties asking them to "desist from displaying photographs of defence personnel" or 'photographs of functions involving defence personnel in advertisements, or otherwise as part of their election propaganda/campaigning.' This was after several election posters of the BJP showed the party desperately trying to cash in on India's recent military skirmishes with Pakistan.