Google is changing how Google Photos and Google Drive work soon

Share

Instead, if someone wants to add files from their Google Drive to Google Photos, there'll be an option to "Upload from Drive" on the Photo's website (photos.google.com) which "lets you manually choose photos and videos from Drive, including "Shared with Me" items, to import into Photos".

In a bid to make things simpler, for regular users and G Suite customers, Google will now implement a more "granular control" over the services to prevent accidental changes and deletion of items across these two products.

Google has just announced important changes to automatic sync between Google Drive and Google Photos. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive. Photos and videos you upload to Photos won't be synced with your Photos folder in Drive either - but there will be a button to let you copy them across from one service to the other.

In July, Google will stop syncing new photos uploaded to Photos into Drive, and vice versa.

The first mention of this possibility came from Forbes a month ago, and according to Android Police, the changes are coming in an effort clear up user confusion and provide a "simplified" experience going forward. Moreover, those who have a " Google Photos" folder in Drive will be pleased to know that while it will remain on Drive, it will no longer update automatically. Users claimed that the system was confusing and led to some accidentally deleting photos and videos from the Drive folder not knowing that the file would also get deleted from Google Photos (or vice versa).

More news: Holy hell, Keanu Reeves is in Cyberpunk 2077
More news: Nintendo E3 2019 Games: Zelda, Pokemon, Luigi's Mansion, And More
More news: Get Ready To Head Back To Pandora With June’s PlayStation Plus Games

Backup and Sync will continue to work as before using the Windows and Mac clients.

Handily, Google is saying that uploading an original quality photo to both services will only count towards your quota once.

Google says the changes are being made to simplify features that caused confusion for users.

Photos and videos in both accounts will stay in their respective apps and will not be deleted when the changes happen in July.

Share